Once the initial backup for a user has successfully run, an administrator can navigate to restore data on behalf of a user by clicking the ‘Restore’ button in the user list as shown in the screenshot below.
In the restore view, the mailbox data is displayed in a point-in-time snapshot - showing the emails and folder structure from the specific date of the backup. One or multiple emails or entire folders can be selected to be restored.
Previous backups can be viewed by opening up the calendar, which then displays the days that have a backup.
When an admin restores data, they’ll be presented with the option to restore directly back into the account from where the data was backed up, or they have the option to restore into another users account.
If the different user option is selected for the destination of the restored data, a list of users will display from which to select:
Once you select the account into which you’d like to restore and confirm the restore operation, a restored folder with the timestamp of the restore will be created with the newly restored emails in the Office 365 account.